Lighting a Billion Lives

Convention 2016


11 April, 2016 | Stein Auditorium, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi

About Convention 2016

The Lighting a Billion Lives CONVENTION 2016 is an international forum for universal energy access that brings together practitioners, funders, policy makers, government agencies, development initiatives and businesses to collaborate on developing pathways and measures towards scaling up energy access.

In this new era of the Sustainable Development Goals, and with the world coming together at the 2015 Paris Climate Conference (COP21) to discuss possible new and legally binding universal global agreements on climate change, the link between energy and climate change becomes more imperative. Clean energy generation and consumption are key components of the climate mitigation strategy, but they are also crucial contributors towards community welfare and offer significant co-benefits in the areas of education, health, livelihoods, productivity, a better quality of life and the overall reduction in poverty. It is therefore essential to recognise the role that energy access plays, not only towards climate mitigation but also towards the achievement of the most fundamental Sustainable Development Goals.

CONVENTION 2016 is a first step towards climate mitigation through an ‘energy access’ approach for sustainable development. The thematic focus of the Convention is ‘Developing Pathways to Scale Up Energy Access’ with an emphasis on Policy, Finance, Innovation, Enterprise Development and the Role of Business in facilitating access to clean, affordable and sustainable energy.


  • 8:30 to 09:15


  • 9:30 to 10:50
    Stein Auditorium

    Inaugural Session

    • Lighting the Lamp
    • Welcome remarks: Dr Ajay Mathur, DG, TERI
    • LaBL Film Screening
    • LaBL Book Launch
    • Inaugural Address: Shri Upendra Tripathy, IAS, Secretary, MNRE
    • Presidential Address: Shri Tarun Kapoor, Joint Secretary, MNRE
    • Presentation by LaBL Energy Entrepreneurs
    • LaBL Partner Felicitation Ceremony by Shri Tarun Kapoor, IAS, Joint Secretary, MNRE, Government of India
    • Vote of thanks: Dr I H Rehman, Senior Director, TERI
  • 10:50 to 11:00
    Stein Auditorium

    Opening of Exhibition at Silver Oak Hall, IHC

    Shri Tarun Kapoor, IAS, Joint Secretary, MNRE and Dr Ajay Mathur, DG, TERI

  • 11:00 to 11:30

    TEA at Char Minar

  • 11:30 to 1:00
    Stein Auditorium

    High Level Plenary: Making modern energy access universal – The role of Policy for integrated and inclusive provisioning

    Dr I H Rehman, Senior Director, TERI (Moderator)
    Shri Tarun Kapoor, IAS, Joint Secretary, MNRE
    Dr Simon Lucas, Team Leader - Climate & Development; Energy, Climate & Growth Unit, British High Commission
    Dr Arunabha Ghosh, CEO, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)
    Dr Leena Srivastava, Vice Chancellor, TERI University
    Dr Madhav B Karki, ED, CGED-Nepal; Co-Chair, IPBES Regional Assessment of Biodiversity & Ecosystem Services in Asia Pacific

  • 1:00 to 1:30
    Stein Auditorium

    Smart Villages: Announcement of India Off-grid Energy Impact Competition Winner and Presentation

    Dr John Holmes, Project Co-leaders, Smart Villages
    Dr Kristin Shine Polman, Director for International Competitions, Smart Villages

  • 1:30 to 2:30

    NETWORKING LUNCH at Char Minar

  • 2:30 to 4:00
    Stein Auditorium

    Panel Discussion: Social, Technological and Business Innovations in Energy Service Delivery

    Dr Akanksha Chaurey, CEO, IT Power (Chair / Moderator)
    Dr John Holmes, Project Co-leaders, Smart Villages
    Mr Piyush Jaju, CEO, ONERGY
    Mr Simon Stolp, Lead Energy Specialist, South Asia, The World Bank
    Dr Catriona Power, Sustainability Advisor – Energy, Forum for the Future India
    Mr Debajit Palit, Associate Director, TERI

  • 4:00 to 4:15

    TEA at Char Minar

  • 4:15 to 5:30
    Stein Auditorium

    Panel Discussion: The Role of Business in Driving Energy Access

    Dr Annapurna Vancheswaran, Senior Director, TERI (Moderator)
    Mr Praveen Kumar, Rural Marketing Expert, Lighting Asia/India Program, IFC
    Mr Shirish S Garud, Director, Energy Environment Tech. Development, TERI
    Mr A K Maggu, GM, NTPC Vidyut Vyapar Nigam Ltd
    Mr Subodh Kumar, GM, Aletrnate Energy & Sustainable Development, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd
    Mr Bhola Prasad, Chairman, Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank

  • 5:30 to 5:50
    Stein Auditorium

    Conclusion and Thanks

  • 5:50 to 6:00
    Stein Auditorium

    Closing performance by ‘Pratibimb’


Dr Akanksha Chaurey

Chief Executive Officer,
IT Power Private Limited (India)

Read more

Dr Arunabha Ghosh

CEO, Council on Energy,
Environment and Water (CEEW)

Read more

Dr Catriona Power

Sustainability Advisor,
Forum of the Future

Read more

Dr John Holmes

Project Co-leader,
Smart Villages

Read more

Dr Kristin Shine Polman

Director for International
Competitions, Smart Villages

Read more

Dr Leena Srivastava

Vice Chancellor, Professor,
Department of Policy Studies
TERI University

Read more

Dr Madhav Bahadur Karki

Executive Director,

Read more

Mr Piyush Jaju

Co-founder & CEO,

Read more

Mr Praveen Kumar

Rural Marketing Expert, Lighting Asia/India Program
International Finance Corporation

Read more

Dr Simon Lucas

Team Leader, Climate and Development
UK Department for International Development (DfID), India

Read more

Shri Tarun Kapoor, IAS

Joint Secretary,

Read more

Our Gallery


Premier Partner

Senior Partner

Associate Partner

Star Partners

Contact Us

TERI (The Energy and Resources Institute),
Darbari Seth Block, IHC Complex,
Lodhi Road, New Delhi - 110 003, INDIA

Tel. : (+91 11) 2468 2100 ,41504900
E-mail :

Stay Connected

Copyright©2016, TERI